Florida Prepaid College Board Members

Mission Statement:  The Florida Prepaid College Board is committed to helping Floridians save for future qualified higher education expenses by providing a cost-effective, financially sound Prepaid College Plan and other college savings programs.

About the Board

The Florida Prepaid College Board has seven members, including the Chief Financial Officer of Florida, the Attorney General of Florida, the Chancellor of the Board of Governors of the State University System of Florida, the Chancellor of the Division of Florida Colleges of the Florida Department of Education, or their designees, and three members appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate.

The Florida Prepaid College Board manages the Stanley G. Tate Florida Prepaid College Program and the Florida 529 Savings Plan. Both are tax-favored 529 college savings plans authorized by Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code. The Board establishes policy and actively oversees the investment and financial performance of the programs. There are 14 positions (FTE) authorized by the Board, including an Executive Director appointed to oversee the day-to-day operations of the Board and its programs.

Ambassador John D. Rood

Chairman John D. Rood

Ambassador John D. Rood was appointed to the Florida Prepaid College Board by Governor Rick Scott in 2016 and is the current Chairman of the Board. Mr. Rood is the founder and chairman of The Vestcor Companies. He served as United States Ambassador to the Commonwealth of the Bahamas from 2004 until 2007. Mr. Rood previously served as a member of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission and the Board of Governors of the State University System. He is on the Board of Trustees of Flagler College and previously served as a board member for Episcopal High School and Teach for America. Mr. Rood received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Montana.

Photo of Chris Kinsley

Chris Kinsley

Chris Kinsley is the Finance and Facilities Assistant Vice Chancellor for the Florida Board of Governors and serves as staff director for the Board of Governors Facilities Committee. Mr. Kinsley is responsible for capital projects funding for the State University System of Florida. He has oversight for all Educational Plant Surveys; PECO funding; and System Shared Initiatives. Mr. Kinsley joined the Board of Governor’s Office in 2006, and has over 20 years of state and local government experience in accounting, finance, capital financing and audit. He serves as Vice Chairman of the Florida Prepaid College Board and is the designee for the Chancellor of the State University System of Florida. Mr. Kinsley has a Master’s degree in Accounting from Florida State University and is a licensed CPA.

Kathy Hebda

Kathy Hebda

Chancellor Kathy Hebda has committed more than 30 years to improving education for students in Florida across all educational sectors. As Chancellor of the Florida College System’s 28 institutions, she continues to advocate for open access for all Floridians to high-quality, affordable postsecondary education. Chancellor Hebda began her educational career in Florida’s and Georgia’s public school system as a middle school chorus teacher. She came to the Florida Department of Education (FDOE) in 1992 first serving as a program specialist, policy coordinator, and administrator of the District Certification Partnership Training Program in the Bureau of Educator Certification. Hebda also held positions as FDOE’s Deputy Public School Chancellor for Educator Quality, as well as Chief of the Bureau of Educator Recruitment, Development, and Retention. Before becoming Chancellor of the Florida College System, Hebda served as Chief of Staff to Florida’s former Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart. Chancellor Hebda earned her master’s degree in Music Education from Florida State University and a bachelor’s degree in Music Education from Newberry College in South Carolina.

Radford Lovett

Radford Lovett

Mr. Lovett is managing director and co-founding partner of Lovett Miller & Co., a Florida-based venture capital and private equity firm that invests in privately held companies primarily in the Southeastern United States. Mr. Lovett has also served as founder, chairman and chief executive officer of two successful growth companies, TowerCom Development, LP, and TowerCom Limited. In addition, Mr. Lovett formerly served as a member of the board of trustees for the University of North Florida and also served as president of the foundation board and co-chairman of the University of North Florida’s Capital Campaign. He is also a former chairman of the Youth Crisis Center and the Jacksonville Jaguars Honor Rows program. Mr. Lovett graduated from Harvard College and lives in Atlantic Beach, Florida.

Jimmy Patronis

Jimmy Patronis

Jimmy Patronis is Florida’s Chief Financial Officer and member of the Cabinet. The office heads the Florida Department of Financial Services and is responsible for overseeing the state’s finances, collecting revenue, paying state bills, auditing state agencies, regulating cemeteries and funerals, and handling fires and arsons. In addition, the CFO has administrative oversight over the offices which handles banking and insurance regulation.
Mr. Patronis served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2006 to 2014 and is recognized for outstanding leadership in his hometown of Panama City and throughout Florida. He is a former director of the Bay Medical Center’s Foundation and Gulf Coast Community College Foundation Board. He was instrumental in the establishment of the Northwest Florida Beaches International Airport in Panama City and has served as chairman and a board member of Bay County-Panama City International Airport and Industrial District. Mr. Patronis earned his associate degree in restaurant management from Gulf Coast Community College and a bachelor’s degree in political science from Florida State University.

Jim Rasmussen

Jim W. Rasmussen

James W. Rasmussen was appointed to the Florida Prepaid College Board in December 2015 by Governor Rick Scott. Mr. Rasmussen is the former Chairman, President and CEO of SunTrust Bank, South Florida. Mr. Rasmussen’s career with SunTrust spanned 37 years. Mr. Rasmussen has been active in community and civic affairs, maintaining leadership positions throughout his career. He currently serves as a Director on the Advisory Board of SunTrust Bank, North Florida and mentors students at the Florida State University College of Business. Mr. Rasmussen graduated from Bradley University with a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting and earned his graduate degree from the Stonier Graduate School of Banking. Mr. Rasmussen is a graduate of Leadership Florida, Class XIII.

Adria Starkey

Adria D. Starkey

Adria D. Starkey was appointed to the Florida Prepaid College Board by Governor Rick Scott in December 2015. Ms. Starkey serves as the Collier County President for FineMark National Bank & Trust. Ms. Starkey has three decades of experience in financial services. Prior to joining FineMark, Ms. Starkey was Chief Operating Officer of The Sanibel Captiva Trust Company and President of The Naples Trust Company. She is currently on the Foundation Board for Healthcare Network of Southwest Florida, the Board of Directors for Gulfshore Playhouse and the Friends of Baker Park Board of Directors. She is currently a trustee of the Naples Children and Education Foundation. Ms. Starkey holds a degree in finance from the University of Florida and has done postgraduate work at Florida International University, University of Miami and the University of North Carolina.